A photo of Martha Graham dancing
About the image

Yousuf Karsh, Martha Graham, 1948 © Yousuf Karsh, Gift of Estrellita Karsh in memory of Yousuf Karsh. National Portrait Gallery

Events

Stay up to date on Smithsonian events that tell women’s stories and honor their achievements in art, history, science, business and culture.

Thursday, September 5, 2019

TimeEventVenue
2:00pmBeyond Brontë: The Essential Act of Collecting Books by WomenNatural History Museum

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

TimeEventVenue
12:30pmJustice Must Be DoneAmerican History Museum
2:30pmJustice Must Be DoneAmerican History Museum

Thursday, September 12, 2019

TimeEventVenue
12:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
1:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
2:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
8:00pmJohn H. Glenn Lecture in Space History: Women of ApolloAir and Space Museum
8:00pmJohn H. Glenn Lecture in Space History: Women of Apollo: Planetarium Overflow”Air and Space Museum

Friday, September 13, 2019

TimeEventVenue
12:00pmMeet the WheelwomanAmerican History Museum
1:00pmMeet the WheelwomanAmerican History Museum
2:00pmMeet the WheelwomanAmerican History Museum

Saturday, September 14, 2019

TimeEventVenue
12:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
1:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
2:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

TimeEventVenue
12:30pmJustice Must Be DoneAmerican History Museum
2:30pmJustice Must Be DoneAmerican History Museum

Friday, September 20, 2019

TimeEventVenue
9:00amA Promise Kept: The Inspiring Life and Works of Suzan Shown HarjoAmerican Indian Museum

Saturday, September 21, 2019

TimeEventVenue
12:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
1:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
2:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum

Wednesday, September 25, 2019

TimeEventVenue
12:30pmJustice Must Be DoneAmerican History Museum
2:30pmJustice Must Be DoneAmerican History Museum

Thursday, September 26, 2019

TimeEventVenue
12:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
1:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
2:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
6:00pmREMIX: The Future is FemalePortrait Gallery

Friday, September 27, 2019

TimeEventVenue
12:00pmMeet the WheelwomanAmerican History Museum
1:00pmMeet the WheelwomanAmerican History Museum
2:00pmMeet the WheelwomanAmerican History Museum

Saturday, September 28, 2019

TimeEventVenue
12:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
1:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
2:00pmVotes for WomenAmerican History Museum
2:00pmMarch on Washington Film Festival: The Me I Want to SingPortrait Gallery

Tuesday, October 8, 2019

TimeEventVenue
6:45pmA Rally With the Suffragists

Thursday, October 10, 2019

TimeEventVenue
6:00pmWomen of Color: The Power of Protest Native American Women Activists: Resistance, Resilience, and Passing the TorchPortrait Gallery

Friday, October 11, 2019

TimeEventVenue
1:00pmCooking Up History: Mollie Katzen's Moosewood CookbookAmerican History Museum

Saturday, October 12, 2019

TimeEventVenue
1:00pmCooking Up History: Salsa con SalsaAmerican History Museum

Thursday, November 14, 2019

TimeEventVenue
10:30amFilm and Discussion: Warrior WomenAnacostia Community Museum
6:00pmWomen of Color: The Power of Protest Ain't I A Woman: Activism, Legacy and Our Quest for JusticePortrait Gallery

Friday, November 15, 2019

TimeEventVenue
1:00pmCooking Up History: Lavash: An Expression of Armenian HeritageAmerican History Museum

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

TimeEventVenue
2:00pmPocahontas: Her Place in the Emerging Atlantic World and Nascent United StatesAmerican Indian Museum

Thursday, November 21, 2019

TimeEventVenue
1:00pmLace making demonstrationAmerican History Museum